Untold by Sarah Rees Brennan is Unparalleled

One of the great perks of being an bookseller, and in particular a bookseller known to be a certain amount of expert to the publisher Reps, is the advance copies!!

Unspoken is a fantabulous story which I highly recommend reading if you haven’t already done so. I was lucky enough to meet Sarah at a Smart Chicks Kick It Event which is why I originally picked up Unspoken and to this day I am so very grateful that she was one of the authors and that that is her book I chose to read. Recently I was able to read Untold by Sarah Rees Brennan. The second story in The Lynburn Legacy. The most amazing thing about is that Untold is that most rare of objects, a follow up story that does not let you down in anyway what’s so ever!!! I know you are thinking “Three exclamation marks. Really?” but yes. I stand behind them. It is really done so well as to deserve three exclamation marks.

Untold picks up where Unspoken has left off with Kami and friends fighting Evil and their own emotional angst. They’ve got to save not only the town but their families as well and that may be more difficult then they originally thought.

Once again Sarah Rees Brennan has produce a story that will engulf you, leave you feeling breathless and wanting to visit Sorry-In-The-Vale over and over again. It will thrill and terrify you. It will make you angry and sad. It will warm your heart and make you believe that chivalry still lives. Even with the constant reminders that Angela and Holly are the most beautiful girls EVER, (what is UP with the constant repetition in books these days?) I long for the next book even though the second isn’t out yet.

I won’t say anything about the actual story so as not to spoil it for others but if you are dying to know what happens with Jared and Kami or Kami and Ash or Rusty or any of the other characters, I can pretty much guarantee that you won’t be disappointed and that it is well worth the wait!!

Pre-order, Get it the day it’s released or in ebook but GET It!

http://www.chapters.indigo.ca/books/untold-the-lynburn-legacy-book/9780375870422-item.html?ikwid=untols+sarah+rees+brennan&ikwsec=Home&gcs_requestid=0CKDZ76Lz_bcCFUaI5wodIEYAAAT

5 out of 5 OUTSTANDING Reads

Advertisements

From The Iron Woods to Lethe


Shadowlark by Meagan Spooner

Lark has left the Iron Woods in search of her brother Basil. She and Tansy are untrusting of each other and yet grateful for each others company. She hasn’t seen Oren since she released him but she knows he is nearby.

They come across a seemingly deserted town and an unexpected run in with The Shadows which leads to the discovery of Lethe. Lethe is about to teach Lark and her friends more than they may have ever wanted to know.

Shadowlark is the sequel to Skylark, a story that I love, love, love even though it is not the easy flow reading style that I normally enjoy. Shadowlark falls into that same category. They are stories that I am compelled to read while at the same time I semi-struggle to get through them. It’s a phenomenon that baffles me. There is a lot of action and adventure in these stories. The descriptive phrasing really brings the characters and places to life. I want to know what will happen to Lark and Oren and all the rest. Will she find her brother? Discover what really happened to the City? Will Lark and Oren be able to stay together? And yet I have to make myself keep reading.

I am always glad I did! I am never disappointed by the story and yet it’s a struggle.

I do recommend these stories. I REALLY do enjoy them. Just be warned that it may take you awhile to get into.

4 out of 4 Reads.

School Was Never This Bad

Recently I read a great book called Monument 14. Quarantine by Lex Thomas is a deeper, darker version of the YA End of the World As We Know It genre!

It took me longer to read but it was so worth it. I am so excited for the sequel and to recommend this to customers looking for a great summer read.

Quarantine is the story of a group of kids that are locked in a school after a boy carrying a dangerous virus (deadly to adults) escapes and runs into their school. Part of the school is blown up in an attempt to get rid of the kid and we end up with a school on military lockdown.

Quickly the students break off into groups with the strongest, athletic and popular kids at the top of the chain and everyone else struggling to survive.

David Thorpe and his younger brother Will have no gang to belong to. They have only each other and that is a problem in and of itself. This modern version of Lord of the flies is rife with conflict of good and evil and the struggle we all face with it within ourselves. Eventually they and others like them join together to become The Loners. This is where the real fun begins.

The interaction of the various cliques, the relationship between the brothers and even the school itself provide many intriguing moments. I was thrilled, appalled and disgusted at times. I was chagrined, saddened and empathetic. Most importantly I am waiting on pins and needles for the sequel to come out! Quarantine Book 2: The Saints can’t come out soon enough for me!

For fans of Maze Runner, Monument 14 and Erebos. Highly Recommend you add it to your summer reading list.
5 out of 5 Reads