From The Iron Woods to Lethe


Shadowlark by Meagan Spooner

Lark has left the Iron Woods in search of her brother Basil. She and Tansy are untrusting of each other and yet grateful for each others company. She hasn’t seen Oren since she released him but she knows he is nearby.

They come across a seemingly deserted town and an unexpected run in with The Shadows which leads to the discovery of Lethe. Lethe is about to teach Lark and her friends more than they may have ever wanted to know.

Shadowlark is the sequel to Skylark, a story that I love, love, love even though it is not the easy flow reading style that I normally enjoy. Shadowlark falls into that same category. They are stories that I am compelled to read while at the same time I semi-struggle to get through them. It’s a phenomenon that baffles me. There is a lot of action and adventure in these stories. The descriptive phrasing really brings the characters and places to life. I want to know what will happen to Lark and Oren and all the rest. Will she find her brother? Discover what really happened to the City? Will Lark and Oren be able to stay together? And yet I have to make myself keep reading.

I am always glad I did! I am never disappointed by the story and yet it’s a struggle.

I do recommend these stories. I REALLY do enjoy them. Just be warned that it may take you awhile to get into.

4 out of 4 Reads.

Leave a Reply

