Gatsby, Great? Depends on who you ask.

Last night I joined some friends at a viewing of The Great Gatsby starring Leo DiCaprio, Carey Mulligan and Toby Maguire.
Within our group of 10-12 women, ranging in age from mid-20’s to late 50’s, there were various opinions on whether or not this was a good movie. One of my older friends was very disappointed. She thought the movie was too long, badly directed, complained that the music was all in the background and puh-lease do not get her started on the character development! Many of the older ladies kept comparing it to the original.

I myself have not seen the original so I can not compare the two. What I can do is tell you that I really enjoyed it. I will probably buy the DVD and watch it once a year. That being said I can not say that I LOVED this movie.

I knew it wasn’t a musical so I didn’t compare it to Moulin Rouge but I was expecting more from the music. The music was interesting and I noticed it in a way my friend didn’t but it wasn’t spectacular or fitting to the moments in the way that when I hear those songs I’ll think of that particular movie moment. Nor will I buy the soundtrack and be unable to stop myself from singing along it just wasn’t memorable enough or epic enough.

Unlike my friend I did not find the movie to be too long. For the first time in a long time I was not fidgety during a movie. If this had been an action flick I would have said I was on the edge of my seat. Maybe that’s because I didn’t know the full story going in having never read the book or seen the movie. Whatever the reason I was hooked.

I think the costumes were stunning, I love the old look to many of the scenes but I was disappointed in the green screen moments as I found them to very noticeable. I seems to me that with all the advancements made in Hi-Def they haven’t improved the green screen abilities and that’s why they stand out.

Because all I ask of a movie is to be entertained I find myself less judgmental about acting abilities then others I know but I did notice and was impressed by DiCaprio’s ability to convey different things just by facial expression alone.

One pet peeve I had was the numerous times I heard Old Sport. It was beyond annoying to the point where I wanted to smack someone, especially since I found so much of the language of the film to be so elegant.

Sadly I do not think that this version of The Great Gatsby is going to throw the women of the world into a 1920’s frenzy but it was fun to journey there for a few hours.

All in all I enjoyed the movie but more importantly I had a great evening out with some wonderful women. Dinner, a movie followed by coffee chat at Tim’s, sounds like a perfect evening to me.

Leave a Reply

