Dualed byElise Chapman

A couple of weeks ago I read a copy of Dualed because a friend had posted a clip of the audio version on their facebook page, it intrigued me. As I walked by my book case I noticed I had an advanced copy on my TBR pile so I thought Why Not?

Dualed by Elise Chapman brings together bits and pieces of all my favourite YA Dystopian novels yet stands all on its own. West Grayer is a strong female character that I’m pretty sure could take down Katniss (especially the Katniss in The MockingJay), could give Triss a run for her money and show Saba (from Blood Red Road) a thing or too about pushing people away.

In the town of Kersh every citizen must prove their worth before their 20th birthday by killing their ALT, a genetic replica of themselves. Only the strongest, fastest, smartest are desired in this safe town in a world that’s been destroyed.  West has been preparing for this all her life but when her turn comes after losing almost everyone she’s loved she makes some decisions that take her on a journey she would never have expected taking.

How does one survive ones conscience in a town where every adult has committed murder? Where winning means not only better food, a job and a better life but also that you have killed a carbon copy of yourself? Dualed presents these questions and many others to the reader while taking them on a journey filled with strife, survival and romance.

Dualed is Elise Chapman’s debut novel and is expected to be followed by a sequel in February 2014. I look forward to reading it and more from this new Canadian author.

I give Dualed 4 out of 5 Reads

Leave a Reply

