Bloody Genius Marketing

Say what you want about Justin Bieber it isn’t going to change my mind. I am not his core demographic and I am not in love with him but I do really enjoy his music. Most of it anyway. It makes me feel young again. Despite what some may believe, he is a very talented as a musician. I love that he employs so many different styles of music in his songs.

But what struck me as a bit of bloody marvelous marketing is the ad for his perfume called Girlfriend that is being shown every other minute on MuchMusic. If I was 16 this commercial would have me begging to find this in my Christmas stocking.

This version is longer than the one I’ve seen but either one is genius. For the millions of teenage girls out there that want to be his girlfriend and can picture themselves doing all these things with him this commercial must be a little slice of Heaven.  As I said before, if I was younger I’d be asking for the perfume myself! These people know their core market and play to them unabashedly. And let’s face it, most girls that age (and older) are more than willing to buy what they are selling. Everyone wants to feel special, valued and loved. And he makes them feel exactly that!

To Justin and the amazing team he seems to have surrounded himself with I say keep up the good work and good luck. This Canadian Gal is proud to claim you as a fellow countryman.

I leave you with this, I hope the brains behind this campaign get a huge bonus from all the sales they’ve generated.

 

Leave a Reply

