Love Unscripted = Much Confusion

Love Unscripted by Tina Reber is the story of Taryn Mitchell living the life that a lot of young girls (and some women) dream off. Meeting and falling in love with a celebrity who is filming in her town.

Taryn is a savvy business woman running her own pub and frustrated by the constant talk of her friends and female clients about the movie filming in their small Rhode Island town. When Ryan Christensen, the films hot male lead comes into her pub one day in an attempt to flee some fans, they hit it off.
Despite her feelings for Ryan, Taryn is determined to keep him at the friends level. She has been hurt too many times to fall for a celebrity who will be leaving town in a couple of months.
I had hopes for this story. Being a fan of movies I completely understand the appeal of falling for celebrity. I enjoyed many of the characters including the leads…….for about a moment. This book is one of the most difficult reads I’ve read through. It took me almost two months of forcing myself to read this.
I liked the characters then I didn’t. Taryn started off as a strong minded, wise-cracking business woman full of compassion and a good heart. Ryan is a movie star but still humble, gracious, and enjoys the simple life. But I have to say that at times reading some of the scenes when they are arguing and he is yelling and gripping her arms and do on, well they come off as almost abusive. Especially when Taryn apologizes, backs down or keeps her opinion to herself. It doesn’t make me want to root for them.
 There are too many story-lines. What’s good for the goose is not always good for the gander. I feel like they both didn’t need to have psychotic fans. Yes there are a lot of problems in life and every good romance novel has it’s fair share of angst and busybodies but THIS many just wasn’t necessary. Yes celebrities have to deal with persistent and even crazy fans, gossip, co-stars even family trouble. But do we have to hear about it over and over and over again? They argue about stories, they argue about guys coming onto her, they argue about money, he often just ignores her concerns and does what he wants to, like the kitchen reno, which really amounted to nothing. It could have amounted to her making the alluded to business arrangement with Tammy and managing her pub while on the road with him. Thereby combining their lives in a complimentary manner.
Less fighting during the meat of the story and an epilogue about the wedding and their life compromises would have made a better story.
Along with the too many story-lines and too many characters there was an inconsistency in language and character. At times Taryn and Ryan come across as almost innocent (which neither of them are) and teenager like, Nudging each other under the table and so on which is sweet and not a bad thing but then at other times they are using more vulgar language and time is spent describing sexy outfits or what they will do to each other but the sex scenes are more glossed over, innocent and brief. For instance at Christmas she gives him a gift which is meant for her to wear but Mr. big time money throwing movie star is only wearing boxer briefs. He could at least have satin or silk or sexy underwear on for her viewing pleasure.  They make love under the tree and in the next paragraph she’s waking up, is it the next morning? Are they in bed? How did that happen? It’s all very abrupt.
I wanted so much to really get behind this story. I liked the story-line and most of the (many) characters. I even disliked the ones we’re supposed to.I liked that the heroine is a strong woman (for the most part) but there was just too much going on. I also didn’t enjoy the first person narrative. I usually dislike First person but this was really bad.
I read this as an EARC through NetGalley and can only hope that before it went to print many of these issues were addressed. Which I am guessing didn’t happen as apparently this book is at least two years old an a sequel was released.
I wonder if I will ever be curious enough to read the second but I’m doubting I will.
I can only give this 2 out of 5 reads
Leave a Reply

