Discovering New Movies

I love to buy movies. I especially love to buy ones that I’ve never heard of. I do not however love to pay more than $20 for them, particularly when I’ve never heard of them.

I can spend a lot of time in stores like HMV, BestBuy and Walmart browsing through the racks of DVD’s under $10.

Yesterday I spent sometime in HMV and bought two old favourites that I haven’t watched in years.  St. Elmo’s Fire and Say Anything, I just couldn’t pass them up at $5 each but I also bought The Accidental Husband starring Uma Thurman, Colin Firth and Jeffery Dean Morgan. The cast alone is the reason I picked it up the fact that it was a romantic comedy cinched it for me. I love Uma in The Truth About Cats and Dogs, Colin in everything he does and Jeffery Dean Morgan in PS I Love You.

I watched it today and quite enjoyed it.  Admittedly not  one that I will watch as often as many of the movies I own but not one of the worst  I’ve ever purchased either.  At the same time I’m glad it was only $5. It’s  a cute little story. Uma plays a Dr with a radio show and self help book coming out who unkowingly throws Jeffery Dean Morgan’s life into upheaval when she tells his fiancee not to go through with the wedding, Colin Firth plays Uma’s fiancee and publisher.

The fun starts when JDM manages to make it look like he and Uma are married. Quaint fun little movie. Not Love Actually not even August Rush but enjoyable none the less.

I also love TV on DVD. I have just started watching Pretty Little Liars. I am in fact watching the very first episode at this moment thanks to my friend who lent me the first two seasons. I had sort of falling into watching episodes of the new season on Musch Music and finally decided I needed to see the first seasons to really know what’s going on.  There is a lot going on in this show and I find it similar to Veronica Mars (though I personally think that VM is MUCH better) and I am definitely not the demographic the show is aimed at, I do enjoy it.

 

Leave a Reply

