The Return of Great Canadian Music

In the 80’s there were numerous well known Canadian rock and pop bands. Too many to name here, ok not really, I just don’t feel like doing it.

While watching MuchMusic tonight I realized it’s happening again. Excluding Justin Bieber , which I’m only doing because he’s a phenomenon, in a different league than these other acts. Whether or not he’s good isn’t the point here.

There is a plethora of great talent out there that we should be supporting.

The first that comes to mind in Jesse LaBelle. If you haven’t heard of him I’m not surprised but believe me you will. For awhile he was sort of behind the scenes as a song writer. His second album comes out in August and I love his new single. Sadly no matter how hard I try I can not get the video embedded but follow the link, it’s worth it! Someone tell Jesse to get himself a Vevo channel!

Heartbreak Coverup featuring Alyssa Reid

http://www.muchmusic.com/music/playlist/pid/63921/fresh-videos

My favourite song is Perfect Accident off his first album.

Another of the Great Canadian Groups is Marianas Trench. If you haven’t heard of them by now I don’t know why. Not only is their music great but their videos are done incredibly well. Full of pop culture moments that make them really fun to watch!

Marianas Trench has a new video for Desperate Measures

but one of my faves is Celbrity Status

The third band on the list is not one that I listen to a lot.  I have listed them here because they are a big selling act.   Hedley is a band with many fans and even though I am not typically one of them I do really enjoy their song Invincible

Finally, I present to you Shawn Hook, a performer I’ve only recently discovered, again thanks to MuchMusic.

and for everyone who remembers We’re Not Going To Take It or You Gotta Fight For your Right (To Party) listen to Shawn’s song Middle Finger.

I’ve shared some of great Canadian Talent faves with you now it’s your turn to share some with me. Let me knowwhich acts you think I should check out next.

Leave a comment