BOOBIES………….In Scarf Form

A few weeks ago my friend A posted this picture on my facebook page

suggesting that I knit her one. I didn’t think it would look good knitted so another friend found this

which looks okay but not as good as the first picture. I mentioned that to A and said that if I made her one I’d have to make one for Berns as well (a friend who calls everyone Boobies) and then I let the subject drop.

Meanwhile I was hatching a plan to make one at Mom’s.

The following week I went to visit Mom, the wonderful person who taught me almost everything I know about sewing, knitting, crochet and crafting in general. She’s  always willing to help me with my crazy schemes. Last year she helped me make a onesie for the 19 year old I Nanny (well used to Nanny).

The first night of my visit I explained the idea to her, the second we bought some pink material and on the third and fourth nights the fun began. I showed her the picture and we went Internet searching for a pattern or tutorial or something to guide us in our quest to make a boobie scarf. We finally found one we liked and got to work.

My Mom being the genius that she is (and a foster Mom to two beautiful baby girls) suggested that we use old baby bottle nipples as we had no felt or beads as the tutorial called for.  So that’s what we did.

I love these crafting moments with my mom as we generally get silly and much laughter exudes as you can imagine it did in this endeavor. Mom told me that when she was young they used to knit Peter Heaters  for male skiers when she was young and I just about died laughing. An online search for those or Willy Warmers will lead you to many many patterns as well as some other interesting ones. Like a penis shaped cover for your chapstick, I kid you not and No A, Berns or anyone else who might ask I WILL NOT knit you one of those! LOL

In the end we managed to spend a few evenings laughing and making great memories while making three scarves; one for A, one for Berns and the third I’m not sure, maybe I’ll auction it off to the highest bidder .

3 thoughts on “BOOBIES………….In Scarf Form

  1. you’re the breast little crafter around! Xo

  2. tits the greatest present ever!
    ok…I’ll stop.

  3. Marina says:

    Tracy that’s so great! I love it!

Leave a Reply

