Follow Me to Livin’ The Dream

A few years ago I heard Follow Me by Uncle Kracker on the radio and was instantly hooked. I loved  the sound of his voice, the words of the song and the melody.

That doesn’t always happen. Sometimes I prefer the lyrics, sometimes it’s the beat that attracts me and sometimes it’s the singer themselves.  Some songs I like instantly, while others grow on me over time but the ones I like best are the ones I still enjoy even when they’ve been overplayed on the radio.

In the case of Uncle Kracker after Follow Me I heard Drift Away and then No Stranger to Shame. Since I really liked these two songs I bought the album of the same name and was HOOKED.  Thunderhead Hawkins and Memphis Soul Song are two of my favourites but the whole album is a rockin’ soulful good time. So I went back and bought his first album Double Wide. Have to say that Follow Me is the only song on the album that I enjoy.

Along came 72 and Sunny and I was blown away by each and every song. I remember thinking that it just got better with each new cd. I just couldn’t get enough of Rescue and Last Night Again. The southern soul sound grabs me at my core.

With his newest album – Happy Hour- I wouldn’t say I was disappointed but 72 and Sunny remains the album I enjoy the most. On Happy Hour I heard Smile and immediately had to request it on the radio station I listen to.

I love to hear it while getting ready for work in the morning. It’s upbeat and fanciful without being too dancey.  It also has the added bonus of being a song that I share with N.3-B  (my youngest niece). I enjoy the humour of My Girlfriend as well as I Hate California and the down home Mellencamp like tune, Main Street.  Another Love Song always has me singing along . I highly recommend it for any road trip playlist.

The one I love the best though surprised me.  I am not normally a fan of remixes, remakes, or sampled songs but Uncle Kracker’s  Livin’ The Dream just feels so right! It is such a smooth blend of old and new you almost don’t notice it’s a different song.

Whether the mood calls for mellow or rockin’  Uncle Kracker has a song for you. I wish he would come North. More specifically I wish he would come play in Halifax, preferably at the Rebecca Cohn a nice smaller venue with great acoustics. I guess I’ll just have to keep living that dream.

2 thoughts on “Follow Me to Livin’ The Dream

  1. sounds like I need to invest in this guy. I know you have been raving about him for years now, but after hearing these tracks, I’m sold! It’s not too often that you and i agree on music, but Tay, we have a winner!!!

    • EnterTAYned says:

      YEAH!!! I’m so glad you enjoyed him.With your appreciation for songs that tell stories try Corner Bar and Mainstreet off of Happy Hour and for some Southern Rock feel try Thunderhead Hawkins from his self-titled album and because it’s a little sad but definitely fitting Further Down the Road from 72 and Sunny.

Leave a Reply

