The Joys of What To Expect…. The Movie

First I have to say that I love cheap night night at the movies. Seriously a ticket, combo pack upsized that comes with chocolate all for $18 and change, now that’s a decent price for a night at the movies.

After my weekend of testosterone filled action films I needed something a little lighter. What to Expect When Your Expecting was all I could have hope for and more. A well rounded star studded cast  made us laugh and get a bit teary eyed as we followed them through the joys and horrors of pregnancy and adoption.

The Dudes (a father’s group) that you see in the commercials are hilarious. They also show the fundamental difference between moms and dads parenting styles. One dad is fighting buying the dreaded minivan and the way he gets around it at the end made all those in attendance last night laugh  out loud. Chris Rock is the leader of this Dad’s Group which has a code and rules that must be followed.

There is a couple who have been trying to get pregnant and when it finally happens their joy is over shadowed by his father’s announcement that he (and his much younger wife) are expecting as well. The differences between the two women’s pregnancies are just one small example of how different each women’s pregnancy can be.

The movie is also about relationships. Relationships between couples, parents & kids and friends all get highlighted in this movie. I also enjoyed the way they connected all the characters to each other like in Love Actually or Playing By Heart.  The city of Atlanta made  a beautiful background for the movie and the pop culture references were also a fun touch.

As I really enjoyed this movie I’d have to say  my slump may be over.  Whether you have kids, are planning to have kids, or (like myself) are happy with letting others have the little darlings, I highly recommend W.T.E if you need a good laugh.

I’d give it 4 out of 5 film reels.

 

Leave a Reply

