Inconceivable!

My two best friends from High School and I literally live across the country from each other. I am the East Coast Girl, One is the Central Girl and the other is the West Coast Girl.

Last year, as a way to stay in touch, we came up with what we call Coast to Coast Movie Night. We pick a night (usually Friday), pick a movie and time then sit down to watch it while “chatting” with Skype or Facebook Chat. It’s our way of staying connected with each other in the Now while also enjoying some of the Then as we often choose to watch old favourites.

A lot of the time we post lines we love from the movies on our facebook status and it always amazes me when other friends like those lines then add their favourites in the comment field. For instance; last night we were watching The Princess Bride and all I typed into my status line was ‘Inconceivable!’.  Immediately someone commented ” I don’t think that word means what you think it means” another posted “As You Wish” and so on. This is the power of a classic movie. Whether it’s award winning or considered a Cult Classic these movies and those lines touch something in us that we pass down generation to generation, they become part of Family Traditions and are there when we need to laugh or cry.

It lead me to thinking about some of my favourite movies that I’ve been able to share with the kids in my life and I urge you to do the same with the kids in yours. Don’t worry about what they’ll think although you should keep in mind their age and movie interests.  Go ahead, share the magic of musicals with a niece or nephew, take the kid you babysit on a pirate treasure hunt with The Goonies or show a younger sibling the wonder of The Wizard of Oz!

Entertain yourself by generating new fans of some great old films and maybe try opening up to something they love. Look at it as if you were their age again. You just might find a new 16 Candles or Top Gun.

3 thoughts on “Inconceivable!

  1. Terry says:

    My fave mindless movie from my youth is Clue: The Movie. Whenever I’m in a blah mood I put it on and I usually always feel better. Better Off Dead is also one of those movies and one that reminds me of High School (not because it happened to us but because we enjoyed it at that time) is Can’t Buy me Love.

    • taytaybegins says:

      These are some great movies. Another great thing about these old favourite movies is that you can probably say all the lines, miss a moment or even have a nap but because they are so familiar you don’t miss a beat.

  2. If I had seen this earlier I would have added it to the post. What a fantastic idea, I’ll have to throw a Princess Bride viewing.

    http://www.rookno17.com/2012/05/inconceivable-sundaes-princess-bride.html?utm_source=BP_recent

Leave a Reply

